Torts, Negligence and Legal Liability
Live Webcast

Torts, Negligence and Legal Liability





Description

Coverage Part A of the commercial general liability (CGL) policy begins: “We will pay those sums that the insured becomes legally obligated to pay as damages because of ‘bodily injury’ or ‘property damage’ to which this insurance applies.” Somewhat similar wording is found in the business auto policy, and most “general” liability coverage. These policies extend coverage when the insured is “legally liable” for specific injury or damage. But what is legal liability and how does the insured become legally liable?

 

Legal liability is imposed by statute or the courts on the person or entity responsible for causing financial injury or damage to another “person.” Legal liability can arise from intentional acts, unintentional acts or contracts (express or implied). In this class we:

  • Define and differentiate between “public wrongs” and “private wrongs”
  • Introduce the various types of “Torts”
  • Detail the concept of “Negligence”
  • Define “damages”
  • Break down causation and ultimate liability
  • Introduce several common and unique legal theories related to degrees of negligence

 

Course Materials

Faculty

Christopher J. Boggs Related seminars and products: 8

CPCU, ARM, ALCM, LPCS, AAI, APA, CWCA, CRIS, AINS


Christopher J. Boggs, CPCU, ARM, ALCM, LPCS, AAI, APA, CWCA, CRIS, AINS, joined the insurance industry in 1990. He is the Executive Director of the Independent Insurance Agents and Brokers of America (Big "I") Virtual University. His current duties involve researching, writing, and teaching property and casualty insurance coverages and concepts to Big "I" members and others in the insurance industry.

 

During his career, Boggs has authored more than 300 insurance and risk management-related articles on a wide range of topics as diverse as Credit Default Swaps, the MCS-90, and enterprise risk management. In addition to this, Boggs has written 13 insurance and risk management books:

  • "The Insurance Professional's Practical Guide to Workers' Compensation: From History through Audit," now in its second edition;
  • "Business Income Insurance Demystified: The Simplified Guide to Time Element Coverages," now in its third edition;
  • "Property and Casualty Insurance Concepts Simplified: The Ultimate 'How to' Insurance Guide for Agents, Brokers, Underwriters and Adjusters;"
  • "Wow! I Never Knew That! 12 of the Most Misunderstood and Misused P&C Coverages, Concepts and Exclusions;"
  • "Insurance, Risk & Risk Management! The Insurance Professional's Guide to Risk Management and Insurance;"
  • "Workers' Compensation: How You Can Effectively Answer Your Clients 12 Most Commonly Asked Questions;"
  • "Glossary of Insurance Terms;"
  • "Choosing the Best Risk Financing Option;"
  • "Writing Property and Liability Coverage for Condos;"
  • "The Truth about Enterprise Risk Management;"
  • "The Experience Mod Worksheet;"
  • "What has ISO Done to us Now?" and
  • "Cancellations, Non-Renewals & Conditional Renewals: THE Insurance Professional's Guide to Statutory Insurance Carrier Notification Requirements for All 50 States!"

 

Boggs is a regular speaker at industry events, speaking for groups such as the National Association of Mutual Insurance Companies (NAMIC), the National Society of Insurance Premium Auditors (NSIPA), the American Association of Managing General Agents (AAMGA), the Institute of Work Comp Professionals (IWCP), and the CPCU Society.

A graduate of Liberty University with a bachelor's degree in Journalism, Boggs' background includes work as a risk management consultant, loss control representative, producer, claims manager, and quality assurance specialist


Dates

Wed, Oct 24, 2018 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Thu, Nov 01, 2018 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Thu, Nov 08, 2018 - 01:00p to 04:00p EST
Thu, Nov 15, 2018 - 01:00p to 04:00p EST
Tue, Nov 27, 2018 - 01:00p to 04:00p EST
Thu, Dec 06, 2018 - 01:00p to 04:00p EST
Tue, Dec 11, 2018 - 01:00p to 04:00p EST
Thu, Dec 13, 2018 - 01:00p to 04:00p EST
Wed, Dec 19, 2018 - 01:00p to 04:00p EST
Tue, Jan 08, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EST
Tue, Jan 15, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EST
Thu, Jan 24, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EST
Tue, Feb 12, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EST
Wed, Feb 20, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EST
Tue, Feb 26, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EST
Thu, Mar 07, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EST
Thu, Mar 14, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Thu, Mar 21, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Wed, Apr 03, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Wed, Apr 10, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Wed, Apr 24, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Wed, May 01, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Thu, May 16, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Wed, May 22, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Thu, Jun 06, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Wed, Jun 26, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Tue, Jul 09, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Tue, Jul 16, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Tue, Jul 23, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Tue, Aug 06, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Tue, Aug 13, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Tue, Aug 20, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Thu, Sep 19, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Thu, Sep 26, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Wed, Oct 09, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Wed, Oct 16, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Wed, Oct 23, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EDT
Thu, Nov 07, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EST
Thu, Nov 14, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EST
Thu, Nov 21, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EST
Thu, Dec 05, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EST
Thu, Dec 12, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EST
Thu, Dec 19, 2019 - 01:00p to 04:00p EST

State Specific Details

State Approval Information Details

KS - This course is approved for 3 hrs CE - Course# 6000015092

Note -  KAIA will file your earned CE electronically within 10 business day after course completions

MI - This course is approved for 3 hrs CE - Course# 73659

TN- This course is approved for 3 hrs CE - Course#30274

NY-This course is approved for 3 hrs CE-Course # NYCR-258936

GA - This course is approved for 3 hrs CE - Course#54164

LA - This course is approved for 3 hrs CE - Course#30299

NE - This course is approved for 3 hrs CE - Course#38372

UT - This course is approved for 3 hrs CE - Course# 35851

MT - This course is approved for 3 hrs CE - Course#6000031925


Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

Overall:     4.5

Total Reviews: 35

Please wait ...

Back to Top